My Birthday Weekend In Pictures

On Friday I turned 33.

I’m pleased to say that my (usual) birthday anxiety this year was fairly minimal, so I was able to enjoy it mostly stress free.

I took the day off work and enjoyed a (well earned) long weekend.  It was three days filled with amazing food, good people, and fun outings.

Since everyone else was at work on Friday, I enjoyed a leisurely day about town on my own.  It started with a morning run (of course) and then I headed to one of my favorite breakfast spots, the AND Cafe, for an absolutely delicious vegan, gluten free waffle covered with mushroom-dill gravy and savory tofu.  I scored a deeply discounted frock at J. Crew and returned home in time to rest up before heading back out with Mr. Move Eat Create and a good friend to catch The Pet Shop Boys in concert at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall.Friday Collage

When I returned home, the night was finished off with birthday cake!  If you’re ever in Portland, by the way, do yourself a favor and pay a visit to Back to Eden Bakery.  This 100% plant-based, gluten free bakery is amazingly delicious and my toasted hazelnut cake with vanilla bean frosting was so good I can’t even do it justice.

Outside - edited

Saturday was an absolutely beautiful day for my weekly long run (15 miles this week).  Coffee and my favorite oatmeal from Harlow re-fueled me afterwards.  Enjoyed along with a good book to read over breakfast, I couldn’t have asked for a better start to the day.

Oatmeal and book - edited

Saturday evening was my official birthday dinner at Portobello, my favorite place in town for an upscale, yet relaxed meal.  My delectable (vegan, gluten free) feast included an appetizer of pommes frites, a couple of whiskey drinks, the first pizza I’ve had in months, and a salted caramel hot fudge sundae.  In my excitement to eat it, I forgot to take a picture of the sundae!  You’ll have to take my word for it that it was beautiful and amazingly tasty.

What a meal!

Oh, and of course there was presents!  Here are a few of them.  Can you tell I’m a reader?

A few of my gifts.  Can you tell I'm a reader?

I wish I could do it all over again.  Here’s to another year!

44 comments on “My Birthday Weekend In Pictures

  1. 278toBoston says:

    Congratulations on another year. 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! Looks like a wonderful weekend!

  3. Celeste says:

    Happy birthday!!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday!

  5. Fit Journey 50 says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  6. Jealous of all you vegan fare! Happy Birthday!

  7. uberdish says:

    Happy birthday! It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend – that’s awesome! I didn’t know Pet Shop Boys were still around. I have great memories of singing “West End Girls” on a backpacking trip through Scotland, England and Wales with a good friend. Love that cake – mmmm!!

  8. veganatomy says:

    Sounds wonderful! Happy birthday 🙂

  9. Happy birthday!!! Looks like it was a fabulous weekend 🙂

  10. Happy birthday and I’m glad you celebrated in style!

  11. Sweet looking cake! And those truffles!! Thanks for sharing your special day with us! and many more!

  12. TartanJogger says:

    Happy Birthday! 😀

  13. Happy birthday young lady!

    Looks like you had a wonderful weekend full of amazing vegan eats. I am totally jealous and want to move to Portland just for the food!

    Here’s to a wonderful year ahead!

  14. Happy belated birthday! Sounds like a wonderful day.

  15. It’s no wonder I always feel an affinity with your posts. We’re astral twins–same day, 11 years apart. Happy Birthday!

  16. Happy Birthday! It sounds like you had an absolutely perfect birthday weekend. What a fantastic celebration!

  17. PaulSmuts says:

    Happy Birthday!!! 🙂

  18. Happy belated birthday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

