My Hot Weather Running Mantra

“At least it’s not Death Valley.” 

desert road

photo credit: Jonathan Kos-Read via photopin cc

Badwater has been on my mind lately.  I recently watched Running On the Sun, a documentary about the 1999 running of the Badwater Ultramarathon.  Coincidentally, I am also currently reading To the Edge by Kirk Johnson, a memoir about a New York Times journalist’s own attempt at running Badwater (which strangely enough takes place the same year that the documentary was filmed). And, of course, this year’s race took place just a couple of weeks ago.

For those of you that don’t know, Badwater is an ultramarathon of epic proportions.  135 miles through the hottest place on earth, in the middle of summer, from the lowest of low points in the Valley to the highest of highs at Mt Whitney, it is an endurance run of legend.

All of this focus on Badwater has seriously given me a whole new outlook on summer running.  When I’m out for a few good miles in 90 degree heat and glaring sun, with sweat dripping, skin sizzling, and hot air cycling through my lungs, I just tell myself, “At least it’s not Death Valley.”

It has a way of putting things into perspective.

27 comments on “My Hot Weather Running Mantra

  1. Yes, good to remember.

  2. twistedchica says:

    Perspective is everything. Good mantra for most of us runners this summer!

  3. Steve says:

    Great post; I do the same thing during the hot summers in Phoenix

  4. thekelsterrr says:

    Love your short and sweet commentary on our recent heat wave 🙂 great attitude!

  5. I love this! Ill tell myself that on my next run! Thanks for sharing

  6. Oh. My. Goodness. I have no idea this ultra existed. I wonder how the runners prepare! I will definitely remind myself of this before I wimp out on the next 90 degree run!

  7. Valerie says:

    Great way to put it. I’m also running now in 90+ degree heat; I’ll have to keep that in mind!

  8. What a fantastic attitude. Thank you for that short little insight. I love it.

  9. veedine10 says:

    I like your enthusiasm and positive outlook! Coincidentally, I am busy reading “Eat & Run” – Scott Jurek’s (a vegan ultramarathon champion) life story – at the moment, and his accounts of Badwater leave me feeling tired just reading about it! However, he has a brilliant motto, which he learnt from his father whilst growing up. He had to perform physically demanding chores on their farm, because his mother had MS and they were not a wealthy family, and when he would ask his father why he couldn’t play like other kids and had to do chores for such a large part of the day, his father would say “Sometimes you just do things.” He has used this motto to encourage himself throughout his running career and he believes that sometimes, instead of filling your mind with all the ‘why’s’ and ‘should have’s’ and searching for logical reasons, in spite of your feelings and state of mind, you just do things!

  10. Joanne says:

    I’m definitely going to have to remember that for when I’m bitching about summer heat!

  11. Just watched this a few weeks ago. Read Scott Jurek’s Eat and Run too, he won Badwater a few times.

  12. plainmama says:

    We have a strangely mild summer, but when it does hit high 80’s and 90’s I always tell myself, “at least it’s not winter…” I would much rather have sweat pouring off me in a just a sports bra and shorts than be bundled in layers trying to make it through the Chicago winter. Are you better with the cold than the heat?

    • I would say so. I don’t like the cold much either, due to having Raynaud’s Disorder (it makes my hands go numb and then painful when they ‘thaw’), but in general, I’d rather run in the cold.

  13. Badwater is the only race that I’ve talked about that my wife has officially veto’d me from running. Which is fine by me – I was just talking about the race, not talking about wanting to do it. There’s crazy, and then there’s Badwater crazy.

    • You’re absolutely right. Badwater is a whole other kind of crazy (albeit, I’m probably a little bit crazy just for being kind of envious of everyone who has done Badwater). Your wife is a smart woman!

Leave a Reply

