Recipe: Spelt Blueberry Scones (An Offering of Comfort)

I could write a typical narrative here – an introduction to this recipe or a recap of the process of making them.

But I don’t really have it in me right now.

Three on plate - edited

This week has been difficult.  For many, many people it has been devastating.

I have read dozens of thoughts across the web on the week’s events and I have appreciated each and every one of them.

But right now, I just need some:  Comfort.  Calm.  Serenity.

Three up close - edited

Scones do that for me.  Preparing them is soothing (the cutting of the butter or butter-like ingredients into the mixture; the folding in of berries) and eating them is even better.  A well made scone is one of my absolute most favorite things in the world.

So I present these scones to you today in a gesture of goodwill, because sometimes the simplest things can provide the comfort that we need most.  May they nourish your body and spirit.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Spelt Blueberry Scones

Adapted Just A Tad From Alisa Cooks (and Babycakes)

Makes 8-12 scones

 

Ingredients:  Two on plate further away 2 - edited

  • 2 cups spelt flour + more for rolling the blueberries in
  • 1 tblspn baking powder
  • ½ tspn sea salt
  • 1/3 cup hazelnut oil (can sub canola oil or similar)
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tblspn vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup hot water
  • ¾ cup frozen blueberries
  • Cinnamon for dusting (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment (or spray lightly with cooking spray).
  2. Prepare your blueberries by placing them in a bowl with a couple of tablespoons of additional flour.  Roll around until blueberries are lightly coated with the flour.  This will help keep them from ‘bleeding’ into the scones as they bake.
  3. In a large bowl whisk together 2 cups flour, the baking powder, and salt.  When combined, add in the oil, agave and vanilla extract.  Stir together until just combined.
  4. Pour your hot water into the batter and stir again until batter is moistened.  Dump in the blueberries that have been rolled lightly in flour and fold them into the batter gently.
  5. To create similar-sized scones, use a measuring cup (I used a ¼ cup size) to scoop up batter and drop onto your prepared baking sheet.  If they are very tall, press down just slightly to even out.
  6. If you want the addition of an ever so slight cinnamon flavor (which is delicious), sprinkle cinnamon lightly over the top of each scone.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the tops are golden and slightly firm to touch.  Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack to let cool completely.  These can be stored at room temperature for 2-4 days (if they last that long!).

41 comments on “Recipe: Spelt Blueberry Scones (An Offering of Comfort)

  1. I love blueberry goodies, but I haven’t made any since going vegan. I think you’ve motivated me to make some for breakfast this weekend. Celeste:)

  2. Scones are definitely the ultimate comfort food, and these look so fabulously easy. I think it’s time for me to try baking with spelt… Thank you, Shannon!

  3. afracooking says:

    Thanks for creating some beauty with those scones! Wishing you strength!

  4. Sophie33 says:

    I love the look of your tasty scones! I love scones in general & I love them vegan even more! I love the hazelnut oil in here for added aroma!

  5. Ed Mahoney says:

    Nice response to a tough week.

  6. Baking has always been soothing to me. It has been a rough week, but these look delightful 🙂

  7. Joanne says:

    I made scones last week also and they definitely offered me a bit of comfort. I wish I had had this recipe though because these look awesome! And I love that they use spelt flour…one of my favorite whole grain flours!

  8. I just looove scones, but I’ve never attempted to make them myself! These look delicious though!

  9. YUM! Making these very soon. Thank you!

  10. I have to try these. I love scones, and am always looking for a good vegan variation (I usually think I NEED the butter). Thanks for the recipe

  11. Kristin says:

    Hazelnut oil – what an interesting twist! So you find that at whole foods or any health food stores?

    • It’s amazing, Kristin! Whole Foods does carry some, as does some local specialty shops in town. I think any place that specializes in things like oils, vinegars, sauces, breads, are likely to have some.

  12. liferx13 says:

    I will certainly be trying these next week! They look wonderful

  13. […] short, they were everything a scone should be. No hockey pucks here. Just a tasty baked treat. As Shannon from Move Eat Create said, they make wonderful comfort food. I made them and then promptly ate two as soon as they came […]

  14. […] made these vegan blueberry scones from fellow blogger Move Eat Create a couple of weeks ago, and Travis and I both LOVED them!  They […]

  15. […] from Shannon’s recipe for delicious blueberry scones found on her blog Move Eat Create (mine are also nearly identical to a Babycakes recipe – I think the only difference from […]

  16. […] found the recipe on Shannon’s amazing blog (which you should check out if you haven’t – it’s […]

  17. Rowena says:

    HI Shannon – if I was to use butter instead of the oil would you melt it or rub it in? And would you use the same quantity? Many thanks!

    • Hi Rowena,

      Great question! I haven’t made them with butter, but in my experience, it could be easily done. Because the ingredients are not creamed, I would would melt the butter, that way it just mixes right in the way the oil does. And it is a 1:1 substitute, so substitute a 1/3 cup oil for 1/3 cup butter, melted. Enjoy!

  18. Yesenia says:

    These look like the perfect summer breakfast treat! Must try 🙂

  19. […] Recipe: Spelt Blueberry Scones (An Offering of Comfort) : One of my personal favorite recipes.  I must find a way to re-create these for my new gluten-free lifestyle! […]

  20. Sonya Milu says:

    I love blueberries! And these sound so simple to make! Thank you!

  21. Kelly Prince says:

    Holy cow these were yummy! Made with coconut oil and maple syrup. Wow!

Leave a Reply

