My Hoarded Life + A Recipe: Vegetarian Lasagna Soup

I have a problem.  I hoard recipes.  Recipes in cookbooks, recipes online, recipes from magazines, recipes snapped with my camera phone – it doesn’t matter.  If I see it and it sounds remotely good, I’m getting it for myself.

This becomes a problem because: A) I do not, in any way, have even remotely enough time to make all of the recipes that I stash; B) I keep stashing more of them anyway; and C) I don’t have the time or energy to organize them into any meaningful system.

As a result I have folders of recipes that I once tried to organize on my computer, random bookmarked recipes that scroll on and on for days also on my computer, hundreds of emails from myself with links to recipes that I’ve found while reading blogs or articles on my iPhone, binders full of photo-copied recipes that I get from library-borrowed cookbooks, a basket stacked full of magazines with dog-eared pages where tasty recipes live, a bookshelf of my owned cookbooks in my dining area, and random scribbled notes and recipes that I’ve printed and written notes on tucked away into various corners of my life.

It’s mad.

It’s really, truly mad.

I need a system and a professional organizer, but it’s not likely to happen soon.  The funny thing is that many recipes are for the same or similar item, but I like to look at slightly different methods and then alter things from various sources to fit my needs and preferences.  So, instead of one cinnamon coffee cake recipe, I have like, oh, maybe 26.

Sometimes, I know I want to make something but I’m so overwhelmed with options, that I simply go with something I’ve just recently seen.  It’s easy to find because it’s at the top of the pile or the bottom of a list somewhere and that can make all the difference in the world when it comes to influencing my cooking decisions.  And sometimes when I do this, I strike recipe gold.

Lasagna Soup - Edited

Such is the case with this recipe here.  I’m not going to type it all out for you because this is one recipe that I followed exactly.  Okay, I added more garlic, but I always add more garlic.  Besides that, I changed nothing.  I’ve made this a couple of times now and just totally love it.  It is one of the single most delicious and satisfying meals I’ve eaten.  I will eat this all year, in any season, because it’s so wonderful, but I wanted to be sure to share the recipe before the last winter days slipped away.  There is something about a bowl of this soup on a cold, dark evening that is utterly magical.

By the way, if you haven’t ever checked out Joanne’s blog (where this recipe hails from), Eats Well With Others, I highly recommend spending some time poking around there.  It’s wonderful – one of my most trusted for quality recipes, for sure – but also just a consistently great read.

Here you are (click through for link to recipe):  Lasagna Soup as found on Eats Well With Others (plus some extra garlic).

46 comments on “My Hoarded Life + A Recipe: Vegetarian Lasagna Soup

  1. Oh my goodness! This is me! I wish I could stop my compulsion with collecting recipes! Like you say, I will never have time to make all the recipes I have amassed.

  2. Yep, me too! And I’ve just started up on Pinterest and now I have another pile, albeit virtual, of recipes to try. I just can’t stop myself…

  3. Me too! But I have an organizing compulsion, so I organize and reorganize them, and then forget how I last organized them!

  4. Haha! This made me laugh (and feel a little less crazy). I’m a recipe hoarder too, in EVERY way that you have mentioned. I didn’t know anyone else out there would own up to emailing themselves links and taking photos of recipes from other people’s books/magazines… I want to give you a giant, understanding hug right now!

  5. OMG!!! Pasta looks Very Yummi!!!

  6. seetinarun says:

    I have the same problem. Folders, binders & more folders. Every time I try to organize my overflowing stash of recipes, I get caught up in reading through them & planning meals and nothing gets done…

  7. Maurie says:

    Ha! My Grandmother had this disease. My Mother had this disease. You know what they went and did? Passed the darn disease down to me. You must be a cousin several times removed. ; ) I’m dealing with the reality of this myself in the process of downsizing… more cookbooks MUST go. They just must. But, maybe after I try that one recipe I’ve been meaning to try in them, ya know? I feel your pain!

  8. yyzstylegirl says:

    Ok I need to print this recipe out – I think I still have a little room in my recipe cabinet 🙂
    Love it and love this post!

  9. Cindy says:

    Too funny! Sounds like we need a support group. I’ll go back through recipe magazines and find new recipes I wouldn’t have originally thought of trying. That always give me a little reaffirmation that keeping all these recipes is a good thing. 🙂

  10. I have the organizing bug too, and I still can’t keep up with recipes! But I will make this one for sure – always looking for hearty one-dish vegetarian meals.

  11. roadtoedinburgh13 says:

    Thanks for the link to this recipe, the dish looks and sounds awesome!

  12. marob23 says:

    So glad to see there are others with this skill 🙂 I too, hoard recipes and what is a bit sad is these days I hardly have time to cook – my husband does most of our cooking because of my job, but I also love reading recipes and cook books so even if i dont ever make all the recipes , it makes for comforting reading.

  13. Samantha says:

    I hoard recipes too! Recently, I tried to organize them all into piles and that’s as far as I got. I even kept ones that have meat in them (though I’m a vegetarian). I think I have a little bit of a problem and pinterest doesn’t help! By the way, the vegetarian lasagna soup looks amazing. I’ve never made actual lasagna, but I would love to try and make this. And like the hoarder I am – I’m going to add it to my bookmarked recipes 🙂

  14. veedine10 says:

    I have exactly the same problem! Over the course of say, about 4 years (ever since I became interested in learning how to cook), I have collected enough recipes to be able to eat a new dishes every day of the year – yet if I have used more than 20 of them it would surprise me. I always tell myself, “hey, this might come in handy SOMEDAY, so don’t throw it away.”

    That being said, this pasta recipe looks delicious! 🙂

  15. girlwithfork says:

    So that’s what I am, never looked at it that way! DON’T classify yourself as society today does this all too much. Just enjoy it and realize you are a library of valuable information!!!

  16. Jenn says:

    Thanks for visiting Bay Vegetarian! And now, I hope that you hoard one of my recipes! haha! The latest if a shout out to my Portland bro Ryan! What a wonderful city!

  17. I to horde recipes! So did my my mom and grandma (mom’s mother-in-law), so I figure there’s no fighting it. At least I like to cook (they like food not cooking), there is so much potentiality in recipes.

  18. I share your dilemma. Plus, I like to buy a recipe book with local cuisine when I travel. And when I try those rip-and-read recipes and they work well, I scan them in my laptop. I go to them most frequently. Thanks for your recent follow.

  19. Anna says:

    A lovely blog you have here! I like the focus and your enthusiasm shines through – thanks for sharing!

  20. I feel so much better after reading your post – my husband hoards cooking magazines (fine cooking, ‘old’ Gourmet magazines, etc). I have always thought this a sign of a deep seated problem, but apparently not! Phew. The recipe looks great! Thanks!

  21. […] you’re in the mood for another Italian dinner recipe, I also made the lasagna soup recipe Move Eat Create linked to. Her blog is fabulous by the way (if you haven’t checked it out yet). I’ve […]

  22. […] My Hoarded Life + A Recipe for Vegetarian Lasagna Soup :  This is a good one.  I dare you to try it and not love it! […]

Leave a Reply

