Why Wednesdays? – Why I Eat . . . Some of My Favorite Foods #8

A Note About This Feature:  Why Wednesdays is a Move Eat Create weekly feature determined to turn the mid-week doldrums upside down and celebrate things I love to do and blog about.  Currently, the focus is on food, cooking, and eating.

 

I get really excited about food . . . and about eating . . . and about cooking.  Food, when you remove social stigma and guilt and all that other gross stuff that can be attached to it, is so much fun.

photo credit: funadium via photopin cc

photo credit: funadium via photopin cc

As a pretty unadventurous person (I am NOT going to be skydiving anytime soon), food is a way in which I actually get to take chances and try new things pretty much anytime that I want to.  As much as I like this variety, I am also a loyal person and I am very loyal to certain foods.  Certain foods (both singular ingredients, as well as fully formed dishes) are featured heavily in my dining rotation.  I may go even so far as to call them my favorite foods.  Though, please don’t think that because something isn’t on this list, I don’t love it.  I fully reserve the right to add to this list at any time and please realize it’s not entirely comprehensive, but it is a start.  I wanted to share a list such as this because I believe that learning what and how people eat can offer a unique insight into someone and I hope this gives you a bit more of a picture of who I am.  Plus, maybe you’ll be inspired to partake in some of these items, too, and I’m all about spreading the foodie love.

So without further adieu, here are (in no particular order) some of my favorite foods – those that make their presence in my life time and time again – along with a reason or two about why I love them so.

(Also, I’d love to hear what would make your list.  What am I missing that you would recommend?)

Love Crunch Granola

Granola – I love granola.  Correction: I am madly in love with granola.  I could eat it every single day.  I eat granola alone, with yogurt, and sometimes in bar form.  But, my absolutely favorite way to eat granola is in a bowl with non-dairy milk.  This makes me unbelievably happy.  I have tried many kinds, but some of my favorites are Nature’s Path Organic Love Crunch Carrot Cake and Kind Cinnamon Oat with Flax Seeds.  Plus, locally, the granola at Compote is OUT OF THIS FLIPPING WORLD.  Healthy, hearty, delicious.

Mr. Move Eat Create’s chowders.  He makes both a broccoli chowder and a potato-corn chowder that are the food equivalent of cuddling up in a cozy, warm blanket.  Serve them up with his from-scratch whole wheat biscuits and I am a happy woman, indeed.

Onions and garlic.  Any meal that starts by sautéing onion and garlic is a meal that I can support.  Period.

photo credit: Esteban Cavrico via photopin cc

photo credit: Esteban Cavrico via photopin cc

Dave’s Killer 21-Grain Bread with almond butter.  I eat this all the time.  It’s breakfast, it’s a snack, its lunch alongside fruit.  It is one of the simplest, most satisfying food experiences I have ever known.  Thanks, Dave.

My friend and roommate’s spinach and pepper lasagna.  Serious comfort food, but made seriously healthy.  Lasagna used to be on the bottom of my list when it came to Italian food, but not anymore.  I request this dish over and over again and am never, ever disappointed.  Some day I will take pictures for you and you will want it, too.

Cauliflower – A vegetable so often shrugged off for being bland or unexciting, but that’s part of what makes it great.  The versatility is incredible.  You can do so much with it!  Plus, it’s loaded with vitamins C and K, giving it super anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory properties.  Woo!

Non-dairy ice cream.  More specifically, So Delicious Almond, Coconut, and Soy Milk ice creams.  I just have no words.  The name is totally deserved.  I am rarely without some in my freezer.

Berries – All types of them.  I add them to my granola.  I eat them straight from the carton.  I use them in desserts.  There is really no better grab and eat snack.

strawberries

Beans – If you can believe it, I didn’t think I liked beans until a couple of years ago.  These days, I am happy to eat them.  Full of protein and fiber, beans are not only delicious but adaptable to whatever cuisine I’m in the mood for.  Black bean burritos.  Kidney bean curry.  White bean cassoulet.  The list could go on and on and on.  I’ll happily take ’em canned or dry!

Vanilla & Cinnamon – I really don’t care what baked good you’re feeding me if it has these flavors.  Just hand it over.  I will eat it and be delighted by my two favorite baking spices.  Just talking about it makes me want a muffin.  Or a scone.  Or a cookie.  Or pancakes.

Blueberry Scone from Sweetpea

Lemons – A go-to for me recently for it’s alkalizing properties in the body, I’ve been adding it to a glass of water in the morning to start my day.  But long before that habit, I’ve known it’s wonderful to dress up just about any sauteed or steamed vegetable, as well as salads, baked treats and any other number of dishes (squeeze some on those beans I mentioned earlier and all of a sudden you’ve got a bright, savory main course ingredient).

I could ramble on for quite some time, but I really should get going.

Plus, this is making me hungry.

Happy Eating!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Previous Entries in This Series:

#7 – Why I Eat . . . Strictly For Myself

#6 – Why I Eat . . . Local

#5 – Why I Eat . . . To Heal and To Fuel

#4 – Why I Eat . . . Food From My Own Kitchen

#3 – Why I Eat . . . Plants!

#2 – Why I Eat . . . With Reverence

#1 –  Why I Eat . . . Thoughtfully

24 comments on “Why Wednesdays? – Why I Eat . . . Some of My Favorite Foods #8

  1. jenn says:

    i love beans, and especially bean burritos – i ate them practically every day during my training season last year. i’m a terrible cook, so anything THAT easy that also happens to be delicious is totally up my alley!

  2. zebveg says:

    You made me hungry reading this!! Kale! I like Kale, in many ways, smoothies, juice, salads, sauted, in soups! yep. Also on my list would be quinoa because it’s so adaptable for any meal, as are chia seeds! Apples, I eat one everyday. I prefer my fugi apples, so I pay a price to have those… those are just a few of my favorite foods!

    • Those are all excellent additions, indeed! I also eat an apple every day. It’s my pre-lunch snack! I’ve been really into Opal apples lately. Thanks for sharing your favorites!

  3. I would love the lasagna recipe! Since I first became health-conscious (about two and a half years ago), I haven’t tried making a healthy version of lasagna, but have always wanted to!

  4. Have you tried the Nature’s Path Ginger Zing granola? My favourite! Rather than cinnamon, I love allspice on everything, especially on oatmeal. The foods I eat every single day are yogurt, fruit and berries.

  5. The smell of onions and garlic sauteing could be the best smell ever!

  6. Joanne says:

    Haha I feel similarly about so many of these! Garlic, onion, lemon, lasagna, beans…love em all! Oh and peanut butter. I couldn’t live without the stuff.

    • That’s how I am with almond butter. My boyfriend loves PB, though, so we always have both in the house. On rare nights when we don’t cook, you are likely to find us both with toast and peanut or almond butter as our main course! 🙂

  7. Hahaha I love the cucumber Pacman!

  8. Cauliflower is definitely one of my staples too. The other thing I love about it is how long it lasts in the fridge. I can buy it on Sunday and count on it being in perfect shape for dinner on Friday. 🙂

  9. lefoodsnob says:

    Weird. It’s as if you were reading my mind and putting it on paper. Have you ever had Ibarra (Mexican) chocolate? There’s a coffee shop near my house that uses it in their house hot chocolate. Since I first tried it two years ago I’ve become OBSESSED. I always have it on hand at home!

  10. msokane says:

    How about refried beans? I make my own, but I really LOVE refried beans from a can! Also humous – I make it several times a week, usually the standard way, but I like to twist it a bit sometimes too.
    BTW, thanks for liking my blog, Mostly Vegan.

  11. […] #8 – Why I Eat . . . Some of My Favorite Foods […]

  12. Crista says:

    I like your style! Love Crunch = yummy!!! berries, beans, caulifower, vanilla, cinnamon are all my favorites!!

  13. Love your list…although I have to disagree about cauliflower. I’ve never made friends with it. Dave’s Killer Bread is a regular at our house along with so many fresh fruits and veggies. And lemon…love lemon in or on anything.

Leave a Reply

