Why Wednesdays? – Why I Eat . . . To Heal and To Fuel – #5

A Note About This Feature:  Why Wednesdays is a Move Eat Create weekly feature determined to turn the mid-week doldrums upside down and celebrate things I love to do and blog about.  Currently, the focus is on food, cooking, and eating.

 

I absolutely eat for enjoyment and pleasure.  I love food, after all.  I eat things that taste good and make my taste buds happy.  None of this, however, means that I sacrifice nutrition.  The combination of getting older and discovering my inner long-distance runner has made eating food that nourishes me critically important in my life.  I need to eat food that is delicious – but I also need to eat food that provides sustenance, energy, and valuable nutrients.

Cucumber Sandwich at The Hazel Room

While I was once fairly oblivious to my body’s needs, I have worked to become in tune with them now, and it’s amazing how much my body will tell me when I listen to it.  Instead of making food decisions based solely on what is in front of me and what my pleasure sensors encourage me to snap up, I now make choices that are much more well-informed and in tune with my body’s needs.

With all of this in mind, I want to talk about food for healing and fuel both from my perspective as a burgeoning endurance athlete, but also just as an ‘average’ person with a desire to live a generally healthy life.  Certainly, the running side of me has nutritional needs that may be fairly specific, but I truly believe the values and concepts are fundamentally the same for athletes and non-athletes alike.  Even if I never ran another mile (yikes – that hurts to even think about!), I would still want to be as healthy as I can.  If I have the ability to ward off illness and disease, why the heck wouldn’t I?

Eating to heal – as a runner:

When it comes to healing, I truly believe in the power of food.  As a runner starting to train for my first marathon, I need food that is going to promote repair and regeneration within my body.  Each time I push myself to increase my long run mileage, fervently engage in plyometrics or strength training, or complete high-intensity speed work, my body breaks down a little.  Healing and recovery after those workouts are crucial and I know that what I eat matters above all else in this regard.

Eating a post-workout meal designed to feed my muscles and joints plenty of healthy carbohydratess, proteins, fats, and loads of vitamins and minerals is crucial.  I have (at times) adhered to this plan well and (at other times) ignored it completely.  I have most definitely noticed the difference.  The speed and quality of healing and recovery is evident when I eat nutritiously.  My body feels all that much stronger, all that much faster.  I experience less soreness, stiffness, and inflammation.  This all results in less turn-around time needed between training sessions, less injury, less muscle fatigue, and continued training that is safe, effective, and high in quality.

Chopped Veggies

Eating to heal – as an ‘average’ gal:

Running aside, food is frequently at work healing me.  And, possibly more importantly, it prevents me from needing much healing in the first place.  On a small scale, this is clear when I’m under the weather.  Eating vitamin-rich foods when I start to feel run-down and sniffly is incredibly effective in providing my system the nourishment it needs to recharge and heal.

Since I’ve changed my eating habits, I’m rarely ill.  I battle allergies at times, but true illness happens much, much less often than in my devil-may-care style eating days.  There is incredible research that shows the benefits of certain foods (unprocessed or minimally processed, of course) to prevent major illnesses, such as diabetes, cancer, heart disease, stroke, and dementia.  If a small amount of extra time and money spent now prevents hospital stays, medical bills, loss of independence, and a shortened life span in the future, you bet I believe that the extra time and effort put into my diet is also warding off more minor ailments, as well.  There were loads of seasonal colds and flus flying around my office in the last couple of months at my office and I am happy to say that I have seemed to avoided the worst of it.

Eating to fuel – as a runner:

Just like I need to heal and recover as a runner, I need to GO.  To MOVE.  When I first started running, I naively didn’t think too much about what I ate and when. Of course, I wasn’t run very long or far at that time, so the relationship between these two wasn’t immediately clear, but that sure changed over time!

Now I can’t imagine heading out for a long run (anywhere between 13-17 miles for me currently) without adequate nutrition.  A Picky Bar is my fuel of choice.  It’s a perfect combination of nutrients and energy to get me going and not upset my stomach.  But in reality, proper nutrition working to fuel my runs happens around the clock, not just 30-60 minutes before I head out the door.  It’s all so clear. If I’ve had a drink or two the night before, I’m inevitably dehydrated during the run.  If I haven’t eaten enough, I’m quickly fatigued and my legs feel like lead.  Too few carbohydrates during the day and I have no kick in my step at all.  Watching the patterns develop between my dietary choices and my running performance with such consistency leaves me with no doubt that making the ‘right’ choices for fuel is crucial for performance (and enjoyment) as a runner.

Biscuit, jam, and coffee

Eating to fuel – as an ‘average’ gal:

I’ve heard people say that because they’re not very active, they don’t need to worry about ‘fuel’ or specific energy gains from food.  I’ve also heard these same people say that they’re often tired, that they feel hungry even though they’ve just had a meal, and that they feel distracted and unfocused at specific times of day.  Daily diet is often a culprit in these issues.

Whether you run a marathon, you ride your bike to work, or you walk little more then to get from your car to the couch, you still need the right combination and amount of nutrients to get you through – that is, at least, to get you through it without feeling miserable.  Life is taxing.  You don’t have to be super active for that to be true.  Even at my most sedentary, it’s a glaring truth.  When I eat too much salt, I wake up with puffy eyes and hands.  Yep.  It’s true and it’s not pretty.  When I don’t eat a balanced lunch, I am a scatterbrained mess around 3pm.  And, I just can no longer function without breakfast.  I get light-headed and cranky.  You do not want to be around me if I am denied a healthy, fresh breakfast to start my day – just take my word for that.

If you are aware of your own patterns with nutrition, healing, and energy, I commend you!  If you’re not, I really encourage you to spend some time paying attention to it.  Tracking your food, your moods and energy levels for a few weeks can be an incredibly insightful experiment.

____________________________________________________________________________________

 Previous Entries in This Series:

#4 – Why I Eat . . . Food From My Own Kitchen

#3 – Why I Eat . . . Plants!

#2 – Why I Eat . . . With Reverence

#1 – Why I Eat  . . . Thoughtfully

12 comments on “Why Wednesdays? – Why I Eat . . . To Heal and To Fuel – #5

  1. Debbie says:

    I totally agree with you on eating to live, to fuel, to heal. I am a nurse by profession a foodie by design, and a runner by default! 😉 I have found that eliminating some foods such as dairy, processed junk and well I have been a non meat eater for a long time, have played a huge part in me taking up running after 40! Keep up the good work, your body will always thank you!

  2. Mileage Mama says:

    What are your favorite post-run recovery foods/meals? I’m starting my training plan this week for my first full marathon!

    • Congratulations on the upcoming marathon! When is it?

      As far as recovery foods, my favorites quick snacks for that all important 15-45 minute recovery window are a whole wheat bagel or toast with almond butter, bananas, a cup of yogurt (could be dairy or non dairy, truly), or a Vega Recovery Accelerator shake. Then, in the couple hours after I eat a larger meal. For that, I like healthy granola in almond milk, a bagel with tofutti and veggies piled on it, pancakes with fruit. If its later in the day, I usually opt for some combo of beans and carbs (a bean burrito or a bowl of beans with rice and veggies, for instance).

  3. Christian says:

    I only can confirm your personal findings. If you want to have a good feeling and a surplus of energy for your long distance run it’s not enough to go for energy-bars during the race. Wether it comes to the soundness of your sleep, a relaxed mood or the power of regeneration, the right food for you makes all the difference.
    I like your style of writing, thanks for sharing. My pleasure to share it on G+.

  4. I like how you “feed your muscles and joints.” Any success I had with “diets” was always short-term, until I had an a-ha moment. Now instead of thinking, “What do I feel like eating?”, I think “What do my cells need?” Works for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

