Bring it, Newport! (Or, Finally Committing to My First Marathon)

I’ve done it!  I have finally made a decision about my first marathon.  Newport it will be!

newport

I am not a good decision maker.  I agonize.  I research and I plan and I debate with myself until I’m exhausted.  Just when I think I’ve made a decision, I second guess myself and begin to pick it apart.  Deciding on which marathon to select as my first was no different.

There are so many factors to consider and I just wanted to make sure my decision was a good one.  The right one.  The best one possible.

No pressure or anything.

In the end, it came down to two primary factors:

  1. Location – I didn’t want to travel too far.  Newport is only a couple hours by car.  I can easily travel there the day before the race and have plenty of time to rest after arriving.
  1. Timing – The idea of running the local Portland Marathon as my first was very tempting, but I just didn’t want to wait until October.  While I still have training to do, I really don’t think I need quite that much time to prepare and the extra wait felt a bit painful to think about.

The Newport Marathon is a smaller event, capping out at 900 runners, but after much research I have found it to be generally well-reviewed by other runners.  It has a pattern of being well-organized and is a mostly flat course.  I think June will be ideal as far as weather is concerned and it’s not so small that I’ll feel too lonely (I hope).

So, with just a bit under 5 months to go, the training plan is being finalized so I that I can stay focused through the rest of winter and spring.  Having run a personal distance PR of 17.5 miles last weekend, I’m feeling good about  being ready come June 1st.

If any of you seasoned marathoners out there have any tips or advice, I gladly welcome them.  I am both incredibly excited and somewhat terrified all at once – but that’s what conquering new personal challenges is all about, right?

19 comments on “Bring it, Newport! (Or, Finally Committing to My First Marathon)

  1. seetinarun says:

    Congratulations! Planning on running my first marathon in 2013, too, so no tips or advice, but I look forward to following your training!

  2. Good on you for entering! I did my first marathon in October last year and had a fantastic experience. I ran an undulating course, with 16500 other runners so a bit different to your planned race. The training takes a lot of your time….and be sure to get those long runs done in the weeks leading up to your taper….and make sure you taper properly, it is so important. I think having a time in mind, but not being too strict with it helps. it’s such a long time to be running, and anything can happen on the day. I trawled the web for advice and a site that helped was http://www.marathontraining.com/ I found his advice really good 🙂

    Good luck and I look forward to reading about your journey

    • Thank you for your support and advice! I will look through that website – the more information I can have, the better.

      I am definitely trying not to be too fixated on a time (though, of course, I have some time-related goals in mind). I know, though, that just finishing my first one will be a huge accomplishment in and of itself!

  3. valentine18 says:

    Congrats on signing up for your first full! I haven’t completed one yet – want too – just working up the nerve. Good luck, can’t wait to hear your progress!

  4. jenn says:

    aaaah congrats and best of luck!!

  5. I like your marathon choice. I haven’t run Newport, but I love marathons near the water. Respect the long runs and the taper and don’t panic if you miss a training run or two.

  6. Good choice with the marathon close to home. I find this strategy eliminates one level of stress (travel stress), where you can just focus on your event. My favorite races are those close to home where it’s a short car ride away. Enjoy your experience. The first marathon is special. Have fun 🙂

  7. Hannah says:

    I’m not a runner, but I have spent so much time in Newport (I learned to walk there and last year I went on my honeymoon there 🙂 ), and I think you will really enjoy yourself there. It’s so beautiful.

  8. […] . . frankly, it’s a bit overwhelming.  I mentioned previously that I committed to running my first marathon.  So once that decision was made, I logically moved on to the next step in the process, which is […]

  9. Julie says:

    Good for you!! I live in Spokane Washington and will also be running the Newport marathon for my first ever full marathon. 😉 i finally worked up the guts to sign up for a full. I’m really looking forward to it and have been following the Hal higdon training schedule. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

