Only Seven Days Until the Holiday Half!

Seven days until my second half-marathon!  I’m racing the Foot Traffic Holiday Half next Sunday.  My mind has been so focused on thinking about what my 2013 racing calendar will bring that I keep almost forgetting that this race is right around the corner.

HolidayHalflogobigger2012

I am quite looking forward to running it, though, as it is North Portland, where I’ve never run before.  Starting and ending near the Adidas Campus, the run loops through North Portland and under the St John’s Bridge.  I suspect that it will be quite lovely.

I’m hoping for a PR by beating my time at the Portland Half-Marathon in October, but I’m also realistic that it may not necessarily happen.  The weather could be interesting.  I don’t mind running in the rain so much, but it does slow me down a bit.

I guess we’ll see in seven days!  I will certainly let you know.  .  . Wish me luck?

(P.S.  If you want to wish for a dry Portland morning, that would be swell, too!)

15 comments on “Only Seven Days Until the Holiday Half!

  1. Kate says:

    Best of luck and I look forward to hearing how you find it!! Kate xo

  2. jcmaillet says:

    Good luck! Trust your training and have fun!!

  3. I am running that race too!

    I am getting really nervous. But it should be fun! And I am getting my themed outfit all ready!

    Roya
    http://www.royaghorbani.wordpress.com

  4. Joanne says:

    How fun! I can’t wait to get back to running after my IT band heals…I miss it so much. I’ll be living vicariously through you! 🙂

    • Go, IT band, go!! (That’s me sending it healing thoughts!)

    • Mileage Mama says:

      I feel your (IT Band) pain … spent most of last winter in physical therapy for mine. But it was a cloud with a silver lining, because I don’t take ANY runs for granted now. There is hope … I came back this summer and set a couple of new 5K PR’s, did two triathlons, and am now training for a half marathon. My long run is up to 10 miles and I’m absolutely pain free!

      Hope you have success getting yours to calm down!!!

  5. laceyjbrown says:

    Good luck! I’ll be hoping for good weather for you!

  6. Hope they add a few more porta-potties this year. I ran it 2 years ago and there were probably less than 10 available for 1,000+ runners and the line was still 50 people deep when the race started!

  7. Mileage Mama says:

    I can’t wait to hear how it goes. I’m hoping to run my second half in April. Sending good race day vibes your way!

Leave a Reply

