Recipe: Bundt Cake with Apples and Fall Spices

I am such a sucker for fall baked goods.  Cinnamon.  Vanilla.  Warm spices.  Apples.  My stomach gets all rumbly just thinking about these flavors.  I mean, seriously folks, throw some cinnamon-vanilla anything at me and I’ll be your friend.

Go ahead.

Try it.

Please.

This cake definitely satisfies my fall-flavor lust.  The spices are warm and comforting and the texture is dense, but soft and studded with bits of apples.  You could certainly put a glaze or icing on this cake if you like, as the original inspiration recipe does, but I didn’t particularly feel like it needed it to suit my tastes.  I ate it just as it with a lovely dusting of powdered sugar on top and thought it hit the right note.  I do wish I had another slice left, because I suspect that a drizzle of honey or agave drizzled on individual portions would actually be quite delicious, too.

I guess I’ll have to make another one to test that theory.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Bundt Cake with Fall Spices and Bananas

Adapted from Averie Cooks

Makes one cake

 

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup coconut spread/oil or Earth Balance, melted (or butter, if you like)
  • ¼ cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 6 oz non-fat plain Greek yogurt (I used Fage)
  • 2 tblspns egg replacer + 6 tblspns water (or 2 large eggs, if you prefer)
  • ½ cup turbinado/raw sugar
  • ½ cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tblspn vanilla extract
  • ½ tspn cinnamon
  • ¼ tspn ground ginger
  • ¼ tspn pumpkin pie spice
  • ¼ tspn nutmeg
  • 1/8 tspn ground cloves (optional)
  • 2 med-large mashed ripe bananas
  • 1 medium apple, diced (I used a semi-tart green variety)
  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 ½ tspn baking soda
  • ½ tspn salt
  • Powdered sugar for dusting

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Coat bundt pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.  Toss with a whisk or fork until well combined.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine melted coconut spread/oil (or Earth Balance or butter), applesauce, yogurt, egg replacer with water, sugars, vanilla extract and all spices.  Whisk all these ingredients until smooth and well-combined.  Stir in mashed bananas and follow by gently stirring in the diced apples.
  4. Create a well in the center of the dry mixture.  Pour wet ingredient into the well and stir just until all ingredients are incorporated.
  5. Pour batter into your prepared bundt pan.  Bake for approximately 40-43 minutes, until golden and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Allow to cool in pan for 5 minutes.  Invert and remove cake to cool completely on a wire rack.
  7. Dust with powdered sugar (I used a  vegan version) if you like.

8 comments on “Recipe: Bundt Cake with Apples and Fall Spices

  1. Glad you tried my recipe and liked it! And that you used whole wheat flour and coconut oil with success!

  2. You had me at “fall spices”. I too cannot get enough of fall flavors! This looks sooo good and I will have to try to make it. Maybe I can substitute a Greek style coconut or almond yogurt for the Fage? I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

    • I bet that substitution would work just fine. You could probably even use some coconut oil and/or applesauce. If you give it a go, I’d love to hear about it! 🙂

      • I will definitely try it out and let you know! I really like your blog! It is funny how sometimes, when you really need something, it just appears! Today, I loved reading your feature about being financially creative. It really resonated with me. Thanks for a great blog!

      • That’s so kind of you to say! You’re welcome and thanks for checking out my little space on the blogosphere!

  3. Irene says:

    this looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

