Why Wednesdays? – Why I Run: Series Recap

A Note About This Feature:  Why Wednesdays is a Move Eat Create weekly feature determined to turn the mid-week doldrums upside down and celebrate things I love to do and blog about.  Currently, the focus is on running

 

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a bit of a fan of this running thing.  For the last 8 weeks, I’ve shared with you some of the reasons why.  The reality is that I could go on week after week after week if I really wanted to.  Certainly, I will continue to blog about it regularly, but it seems right to wrap up the running segment of Why Wednesdays and move on next week.  Here are a few final thoughts.

I’d by lying if I said that every run I take is good.  Some are very, very not good, in fact.  Some runs feel like a chore and some feel never-ending.  Some feel rushed because of time constraints and others are frustrating because of injuries or limitations.

But the reality is, despite the difficulty of some particular outings, each and every run I complete combine to create a truly incredible experience and a necessary component of my life.  Like so many running converts, there was a time when I thought running was crazy.  It would surely be too hard, not worth it, impossible.  And now, if I go even two days in a row without a run, I itch for it.  My legs get antsy and my mind drifts to the feeling of traversing my city.

I’m not the fastest every time. I don’t always go long.  Some days I avoid hills.  But, I can absolutely say that I give it my all.  Whatever I have to give on any given day gets left on that pavement each and every time.  And, the wonderful thing is, I get so much back from it.

I get all of the things that I’ve talked about in this series: health, satisfaction, stress relief, fitness, mental clarity, alone time, a sense of community, adventure, entertainment, accomplishment.

I get contentment.

And, it’s the most amazing thing. 

 

_____________________________________________________________________

Coming Up: Why Creativity Counts

9 comments on “Why Wednesdays? – Why I Run: Series Recap

  1. Joanne says:

    LOVE this post. It’s so true that every run isn’t a great one…but at the end of every one I am ALWAYS glad I did it!

  2. danielle spillman says:

    Yay! A fellow runner! I get so ecstatic when i bump into somebody who understand the runners high, feels the euphoria that running brings, and just loves. to. run! Keep it up!

  3. It’s true, you never regret going for a run, whether it’s a good one or a not so good one!!

  4. Running is crack, and I am hooked. I love when I see other people who get it. My husband runs to eat crap and drink beer. I run because I cannot imagine not running. He is fine with my habit, but it is not the same addiction. Totally and utterly HOOKED.

  5. fifiseven says:

    Hello! Thank you for finding my blog – Pippi Pondlife runs.
    Congratulations on achieving you PB at the half Marathon….
    I’m breaking my legs in (bad joke) to run as barefoot as possible so am walking a lot in zero drop shoes. Do stay tuned as I continue to update on my progress – and catch up with you!
    Best wishes from London UK.

Leave a Reply

