Recipe: My ‘Go-To’ Fattoush (Middle Eastern Salad)

In general, I mix it up in the kitchen quite a bit.  There are some recipes that get repeated and general concepts that get made time and time again with variations of spices and herbs, but mostly I do like to try new recipes often.  Some nights, though, when my brain is tired and my sense of culinary adventure is faint, I just need a recipe that I can count on.  On those nights I need a recipe that I know how to make without much thought, that flows from me with ease and that I have no doubt will be tasty and satisfying.

This is one of those recipes.  It’s my ‘go-to’ fattoush.  Fattoush is a Middle Eastern bread salad that is as versatile as it is delicious.  The recipe below is my own at this point.  It’s a recipe that originated somewhere, though I don’t recall where, and has undergone tweaks and alterations until it has become the recipe that I love.  My knowledge of traditional Middle Eastern food is not so vast that I can claim to know whether this version of the recipe is very authentic or not, but I can vouch for the fact that is an enticing mix of fresh ingredients that come together to create a wonderful dish.

As I mentioned above, another great thing about this dish is that it is incredibly versatile.  I have served it as a main course and as a side dish.  Straight from a bowl or stuffed into a pita.  Drizzled with garlic sauce or on top of hummus.  Topped with falafel or chicken-less strips (I especially like the ones made by both Trader Joe’s and Quorn).  Whether you decide to eat it simple and straightforward or you try mixing it up a bit, I hope you’ll give this a try if you like Middle-Eastern flavors.  It’s been a no-fail dinner in my household many times over.

__________________________________________________________________

Shannon’s ‘Go-To’ Fattoush

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1 English cucumber, seeded and chopped
  • 1-2 pita bread(s)
  • 2 large hearts of romaine lettuce leaves, shredded
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 3 large tomatoes, chopped into chunks
  • 1/4 cup Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 cup mint leaves, chopped
  • 2 large cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tblspns sumac powder
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tspn salt
  • 1/4 tspn black pepper

Preparation:

  1. Tear or cut pita bread into bite-sized pieces and bake in a 350 degree oven for 7 minutes.  When done, set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, layer the lettuce, onions, cucumber, and tomatoes.  Sprinkle the toasted pita pieces on top.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the parsley, mint, garlic, sumac, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Stir or whisk vigorously.
  4. When ready to serve, pour the dressing over the vegetables and pita and toss well to coat.

** Sometimes an extra squeeze of lemon is nice, so a few lemon wedges for serving may be a nice addition.

8 comments on “Recipe: My ‘Go-To’ Fattoush (Middle Eastern Salad)

  1. eclecticlamb says:

    I always like learning about new ingredients. Thanks for including a recipe with sumac. It caused me to research.

  2. Ooohhhh looks so yummy! I love love love finding new ways to use pita bread 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    Given how simple and fresh-flavored this is, I can’t believe I’ve never had fattoush before! Definitely sounds like my kind of salad!

  4. […] Recipe: My ‘Go-To’ Fattoush (Middle Eastern Salad) (moveeatcreate.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] dinner by adding on some pre-made TJ’s appetizers to the rest of the food that I was making (my fattoosh salad, homemade paprika-spiced hummus, and pita bread), but my cooking pride took a hit […]

Leave a Reply

