Hooray for A Finished Project! : Color Affection Shawl

Well I can now count myself amongst the thousands of knitters who have completed a color affection shawl.  I actually finished this project about a week ago and I am happy to say that I feel quite pleased with it.  Plus, it just feels REALLY good to have a finished object to report and show!

As I’ve mentioned previously, I was working on this project as part of the KAL hosted by iMake over on Ravelry.  I feel like this pattern can bring out some strong opinions in people.  I’ve heard many lamenting about how tedious the long rows of garter stitch can become and I’ve heard others raving about what a perfect item it is to knit up while engaged in other activities (chatting, watching television, traveling on a bus).

As for me, I loved it.  I’m not about to say that the garter stitch doesn’t become a bit tedious (sure it does), but it also is a fantastic item for building up a little knitting confidence.  I had taken a bit of a break from knitting due to various reasons (frustration over a difficult project, wrist pain – I have chronic tendonitis -, and just so much pulling me in various directions), so I really did need something to feel like an accomplished knitter again.  This did the trick.

It wasn’t too time-consuming and, despite the long rows, I could visually see progress and momentum in front of me as the stripes built and the stitches bunched up wider and wider on my needles.  I’m pleased with the yarn I used, too.  After blocking, it feels warm and cozy, but still fluid and soft.  I wore it around my always a bit chilly office this week and loved it!

 

P.S.  This post will go live on Sunday, right about the time that I will be running my first half-marathon.  Eek!  Hopefully the next post you will see from me will be filled with tales of my triumph!!

15 comments on “Hooray for A Finished Project! : Color Affection Shawl

  1. Martine says:

    It looks wonderful! Well done :0)

  2. Kate says:

    Love it 🙂 great colour choices!! I agree that long swathes of garter stitch can be just what you need sometimes.

    And good luck in the half marathon!!!!! It’s awesome that you’re doing it, your running is very inspiring to me, just getting back into it after bub. I look forward to hearing about your experience.

    • Thanks so much, Kate! The race went great! I’ll be posting details about it soon, but it was pretty fantastic. It’s nice to hear you’re able to start getting back into running, too. In the meantime, I bet you’re knitting up a storm! 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    Good luck with your half marathon!!! I can’t wait to hear all about it (though I know you’ must have already run it by now!).

    This is so pretty! Well worth all that stitching.

  4. I am an avid knitter and really enjoyed this post. The shawl is gorgeous! About those loooong rows of garter, isn’t that why we knit? lolol

  5. kjwinston says:

    Oh, I like this a whole lot. never underestimate garter stitch – I did for a long time, spurning it as I did lace, lace,lace. But there is something very comforting about its repetition, something meditative. Try the Baby Surprise Sweater – that’s a great garter project.

    • Thanks for that tip – I will give it a try after holiday knitting is done. I don’t have any babies in my life right now, but I could certainly donate it to a good cause. I’ve heard it’s a great pattern for learning the process of sweaters, which I am eager to do!

      • Kate says:

        The baby surprise is indeed a good garter stitch project but I’d say it’s not good for learning about sweater construction as it has a very unusual method of construction! But it’s a good knit and an interesting challenge 🙂

      • Oh, thanks! I will definitely keep that in mind. I appreciate the heads up about it!

  6. nettynot says:

    I love this & think your colour combination is great – I’ve had my eye on this pattern ever since I saw somone at my knit group wearing it & have been wondering even since what colours I’d use…you’ve provided me with some inspiration, thank you! 🙂

    • You’re welcome – and thank you for our kind feedback! I hope you enjoy knitting it. People seem to have pretty diverse reactions to the loads of garter stitch, but I didn’t mind so much!

  7. […] Hooray for a Finished Project: Color Affection Shawl : I’ve been too busy to knit in a long while.  I miss it and wearing this shawl makes me miss all that much more! […]

  8. […] admired this pattern and the finished results of other knitters for a while and after seeing this blog post by Move Eat Create, quite some time ago (I love the colours used) I decided it was definitely […]

Leave a Reply

