KAL Updates

I’ve been knitting and I am very pleased to say that I believe my KALs have gotten me out of my knitting funk that I mentioned I was in a while back.

I told you all before that I had joined my first KAL – the Holla’ Back Tank by Holla’ Knits.  After a nerve-racking start because my yarn arrived late (and if there’s one thing I hate – it’s being late), I have managed to catch up to the rest of the group!  This week’s goal is to finish the front half of the tank and things are going along quite well so far.  It has been loads of stockinette stitch – so nothing terribly exciting, but shaping has kept it interesting enough and being that this is my first garment (i.e. not accessory), that in and of itself is pretty exciting.  Here’s my progress so far:

So . . . then there’s this thing where I actually joined another KAL, too!  Apparently the one wasn’t enough.  You see, I absolutely adore Martine and her blog and podcast (iMake) and when I learned that she was going to be leading a KAL for the ever-popular Color Affection wrap, I had to get in on it.  I mean, this wrap has been absolutely on everyone’s needles this summer but mine.  So I jumped on the chance to knit it up with a group of other Color Affection late-comers.  I couldn’t find the right yarn in my budget from my LYS, unfortunately, so I ordered my yarn from WEBS and it arrived quite quickly.  After casting on at the start of the weekend, I am through the first block of the main color and will be adding in my first contrasting color the next time I pick up my needles.

I know that some people get bored with all the garter stitch – but this is the perfect project for me right now.  I have chronic, severe tendonitis in my wrist, hand, and arm and knitting can really aggravate it sometimes – especially, for whatever reason, purling.  So having a garter stitch only project with striping for interest is really ideal.  My wrist is pleased.  (It still hurts, of course, but it is pleased, nonetheless.)

Anyone else knitting furiously right now?  What’s on your needles?

11 comments on “KAL Updates

  1. Martine says:

    Awww thanks for the mention! Glad you are enjoying the KAL!

    Martine

  2. paigesato says:

    i’m working on bedford. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bedford-2
    the Holla Back tank looks great!

  3. Kate says:

    I’m currently making a stripey summer dress for my daughter! I’ve seen a lot of people knitting the colour affection shawl. What is the big attraction to it? I can relate to the attractiveness of miles of garter stitch, I just finished a stripe study shawl (which also has short rows, which I love too!).

    • I bet you’re daughter will look beautiful in her dress! About color affection, for me, I just really like the way the colors fade into one another through the stripes, and it looks beautiful, but is a pretty easy pattern to knit, which is good for folks like me who are still learning techniques. I’ve seen the stripe study pattern and love it. Did you post a pic on Ravelry? I’ll have to take a look.

      • Kate says:

        I sure did put a picture on Ravelry!!

        I’m so excited about the dress, it’s going to be cute and fun 🙂

  4. Looks like you’re making great progress on your tank. And not one, but two KALs?! That’s impressive. I’m yet to join even one as I’m pretty sure there’s no way I’d keep up 🙂 On my needles is the nightingale wing stole by Anne Hanson (a gift knit), I’m swatching for Cria by Ysolda and I’ve just started my first pair of socks. Look forward to seeing your colour affection as it grows.

    • Thanks! I haven’t knit any Ysolda patterns yet. I look at them wistfully, though. Beautiful stuff – someday I’ll get around to it! I’d love to see the Cria once it’s going.

  5. hipsta mama says:

    Just yesterday I was considering joining (or starting) a KAL. Which groups are you part of/like best?

    currently I am knitting baby things for my bun in the oven.

    • Congratulations on the bun in the oven! 🙂 I am part of the Holla Knits and iMake groups/KALs on Ravelry right now. The Holla Knits people are really great about posting clear, weekly guidance and encouragement which is nice and I like the iMake KAL because there are not set goals each week. It’s just a knit as much as you can until you’re done KAL and that takes some of the pressure off.

Leave a Reply

