Recipe: Not-Unhealthy Plum Muffins

For two weeks it seemed like every day when I opened up my blog feeds, I came across a new plum recipe.  I like plums, you see, but they aren’t one of my go-to fruits.  When push comes to shove, I often pass them over for other fruits of the season.

But they just kept showing up.

And, they looked amazing.  Plum coffee cake.  Plum upside down cake.  Plum jam.  Plum tarts.  You name it.  The photos lured me in and the descriptions of the items won me over.  I needed to partake in the plum frenzy.

As is typical of me, I loved the photos of the fancy, decadent plum cakes, but ultimately, I decided that making something a bit less fancy, a bit more portable, and a tad bit healthier would be more to my liking in the long run.

So I baked plum muffins.  I came across this plum muffin recipe on Whimsi Market Mag, made a few adjustments to suit my preferences, and donned my apron!

The result was delightful – a just slightly sweet muffin with a really great soft texture to bite into.  Perfect for breakfast.  Or dessert.  Or an afternoon snack.  Or a lunch treat.

You get the idea.

While I hesitate to call such a baked treat healthy, these certainly aren’t unhealthy.  Basic, clean ingredients and a nominal amount of sugar and fat make a muffin that you can feel good about eating any time of day.

I have been eating mine as is, but I imagine they would be quite nice with some butter, lemon curd or jam on them, as well.

_________________________________________________________

Not Un-Healthy Plum Muffins 

Adapted from whimsimarket.wordpress.com

Makes 17 muffins

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups pastry flour

1 tblspn baking soda

1 tbspn cinnamon

2/3 cup unpacked brown sugar

¼ tbspn salt (I used kosher)

1/3 cup almond oil

2/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce

¾ cup almond milk

1 tblspn vanilla extract

5 black plums, chopped into ¼ inch cubes

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and coat muffins pans with cooking spray.
  1. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, brown sugar, and salt in a large mixing bowl and whisk together until combined.
  1. In a separate bowl, combine almond oil, applesauce, almond milk, and vanilla.  Stir until just combined.
  1. Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in wet ingredients.  Mix together with a spatula or spoon until smooth.
  1. Add chopped plums to the batter and stir them into the batter, until well distributed.
  1. Spoon or pour approximately ¼ cup batter into each muffin cup.  Bake for 12-15 minutes or until a wooden toothpick can be inserted into a muffin and come out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

*** Note:  I suspect that these would be also be nice with some chopped nuts added in if you are so inclined!

12 comments on “Recipe: Not-Unhealthy Plum Muffins

  1. […] https://moveeatcreate.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/recipe-not-unhealthy-plum-muffins/ This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged nutrition. Bookmark the permalink. ← Day 1: going against the grains […]

  2. whimsimarket says:

    I’m happy that you were inspired to create this recipe!

  3. MattToronto says:

    Lots of good eating on your site!

  4. I love the term ‘not-unhealthy’….

  5. Well, I have to say I love anything having to do with plums…. and muffins, I am sure I can make these gluten-free (we are doing as much gluten free as possible these days) so that’s even more a plus…. These LOOK amazing!!! I bet they taste as good as they look.

  6. Becky Skuse says:

    Your muffins sound delicious and I love that they’re vegan! x

Leave a Reply

