Why Wednesdays? – Why I Run, Reason #1: Stress Relief

Wednesdays are notoriously unwelcome days.  Wednesday is that dull, middle of the week day where exciting things never seem to happen.  The weekend seems far away, the common work week may be wearing you down, and general malaise may set in.  I’ve never cared for the term ‘hump day’, but you get the idea.

Wednesdays are prime ‘Why?’ days.  Why isn’t it Friday yet?  Why am I so tired?  Why does this week feel so long?  Why are there no more cookies from Sunday’s baking? And so on.

In my own personal effort to turn Wednesday woes upside down, I am starting ‘Why Wednesdays’ here on Move Eat Create.  In this weekly feature, I will be spending this one day a week focusing on a more positive, uplifting ‘Why?’ question.  Specifically, I will take a look at why I spend time on and why I love the things you see me blogging about most frequently.

I will start with the first in a series on Why I Run.

_________________________________________

Why I Run, Reason #1: Stress Relief

I run because no other task can as consistently be relied upon to eliminate stress and anxiety the way that running can for me.  I am a generally stressed and anxious person.  It’s just part of me.  It has only been in recent years that I have really embraced this as part of who I am and, as such, embraced the reality that it is a part of me I can learn to manage (not just survive).

I have developed various tools for managing my stress and anxiety and some days I am more successful then others, that’s for sure.  I’m still working on this, you see.  It has become clear though that running is one of the most reliable tools I have in my efforts.  It’s not always perfect.  It’s not magic.  I can’t make all the stress disappear, but a decent run surely does smooth out the edges, clear up some mental space, and shake off some of the more trivial of worries.

I’ve been told at various times by different people that I should meditate.  Traditional meditation does not work for me, but the way I see it, a good solo run is its own meditation.

19 comments on “Why Wednesdays? – Why I Run, Reason #1: Stress Relief

  1. wartica says:

    Whenever I’m experiencing a bump in life’s road, there is nothing better, to center me again, than doing some type of exercise:))

    jonwatersauthor.com

  2. Sarah C says:

    Running is the best stress relief, for sure! I truly believe that the worst days tend to become the best runs 🙂

  3. Josh says:

    I think anything that gets you out of your head and into your body is meditation, and it sounds like that is exactly what running does for you. Plus the whole exercise = looking great and living forever bit!

  4. veganalert says:

    I could not agree more. Running is a big stress reliever and always seems to give me a feeling of accomplishment. Especially important during any middle of the week doldrums!

  5. I have tried meditating while I run. It’s hard, but pretty cool. Just google it for different techniques.

  6. I like the concept of “Why Wednesdays” and I totally agree with your reason for running

  7. beckydancer says:

    I can totally relate to you when you say you are, naturally, an anxious and stressed person. I am exactly the same way. I too have embraced that part of me, and I agree, running really helps! Thanks for posting. Keep running!

  8. […] Why I Run, Reason #1:  Stress Relief Share this:FacebookTumblrEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Fitness, Move, Running, Why Wednesdays and tagged exercise, fitness, health, race, run, running, wellness, Why Wednesdays. […]

  9. […] Why I Run, Reason #1:  Stress Relief Share this:FacebookTumblrEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Fitness, Move, Running, Why Wednesdays and tagged exercise, fitness, health, healthy, inspiration, lists, move, run, running, stereotypes, Why Wednesdays. […]

  10. […] Why I Run, Reason #1:  Stress Relief Share this:FacebookTumblrEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Fitness, Move, Running, Why Wednesdays and tagged exercise, fitness, gratification, health, healthy, move, run, running, success, Why Wednesdays. […]

  11. […] Why I Run, Reason #1:  Stress Relief Share this:FacebookTumblrEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Fitness, Move, Running, Why Wednesdays and tagged exercise, fitness, health, healthy, move, people watching, Portland, run, running, Why Wednesdays. […]

  12. […] Why I Run, Reason #1:  Stress Relief Share this:FacebookTumblrEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Fitness, Move, Running, Why Wednesdays and tagged exercise, fitness, healthy, move, PDX, Portland, run, running, Why Wednesdays. […]

Leave a Reply

