Updates: The Countdown Continues, Breakfast Greens, and Hooray for Learning!

Hello!  This is a quick post to share some updates on what’s been going in the Move Eat Create household.

* I am excited to say that training for my first half-marathon is progressing nicely.  The countdown is now officially at 57 days until the big event.  For the first few weeks of my training, I’ll be honest that my self-doubt was nagging at me that I may not be able to do it.  I am pleased to report that somewhere over the last week or two, I have turned a corner.  I am feeling confident about my ability not only to finish the race, but to do so with a time that I can be satisfied with.  I am by no means the fastest of runners yet, but I do seem to be continuously knocking off seconds from my average pace times, so things are looking good.  The race takes place 3 days after my birthday, so I’m also getting excited about birthday and half-marathon celebratory shenanigans!

** I recently finished reading The China Study and Eat to Live.  Both are exceptional books about nutrition and the benefits of plant-based

© Ersler | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

diets.  Focusing as much on what to eat, as what not to eat, they clearly detail the many benefits of greens and have inspired me to make a change to my daily food habits.  Although I already eat quite a lot of vegetables, I have added a large bowl of leafy greens to my breakfast this week.  Simply dressed with a few sunflower seeds, salt, pepper and some flavored vinegar, citrus, or ponzu, I’ve been eating it before the rest of my breakfast items.  It has really been making a difference in my morning, as I used to start to get pretty hungry about an hour before I ate my lunch, but I’m staying more full and satiated throughout my morning.  And, I’m starting off my day with a bowl full of tasty nutrients.  I can’t beat that!

*** Have you heard about Coursera?  Several elite colleges and universities have been moving forward with finding ways to provide some of their courses available for free online.  I am super excited about this movement, as I think creating access to continued quality learning opportunities is a great thing.  Coursera is a fairly new platform for some of these opportunities and several courses are now available for registration.  I have registered for a couple of courses, starting in the fall and winter, and am interested in several more.  Learning, in just about any format, helps me feel nourished and inspired.

**** Finally, Mr. Move Eat Create’s birthday is this weekend.  I’ll be baking a birthday cake, with hopefully a good balance of indulgent goodness and wholesome goodness, too!  I’ll report back on this one, I’m sure.
Happy Friday!

2 comments on “Updates: The Countdown Continues, Breakfast Greens, and Hooray for Learning!

  1. Joanne says:

    I’m so glad to hear that training is going well! I find that including leafy greens in my life every day is always a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

